Posted in DESIGN, DEVELOPMENT, EVALUATION, MANAGEMENT

541 Final Reflection

Part One: Course Reflection.
What you have learned?

There were several projects in Integrating Technology into the Curriculum that expanded my knowledge base about educational technology.  The first was researching how to create a school-wide wireless network.  The second was the use of databases and spread sheets, which I’ve always had an interest in using but didn’t know how to use.  The third was exploring the role of social media in the classroom.  Each of these subjects were areas I knew very little about but now feel comfortable I have the base knowledge necessary to talk informatively about.

How you have grown professionally?

At the start of this course I began interviewing for an Instructional Technology Coach position in my district.  Professionally, the summer is a time I reflect on successes from the prior year and plan ways to build on those successes.   When I applied for the new position, I used the assignments and blogs entries as a tool to re-frame my thinking from classroom teacher to teacher support person.  I really focused on the logistical challenges I faced using technology to teach and worked all of my projects with those in mind.  I also spent time exploring both elementary and high school standards as my new position may require me to work in both settings.  I’m pleased that I was able to explore my new role within the structure of this course.

How did the course work demonstrate mastery of the AECT standards.

Integrating Technology into the Curriculum projects covered a broad scope of the AECT standards including design, development, management, and evaluation.  The column on the right lists the AECT standards and the activities I have completed that match the standard.  Many of the activities met more than one standard.  Course projects met the following standards:

DESIGN

1.3 instructional strategies  Instructional Software Lesson

1.4 learner characteristics Adaptive/Assistive Technology Presentation

DEVELOPMENT

2.3 Computer Based Technologies  Using the Internet for Instruction Project

2.4 Integrated Technologies  Content Area Presentations

UTILIZATION

3.1 Media Utilization Community Building & Social Networking Project

3.4 Policy and Regulation  Internet Safety

MANAGEMENT

4.2 Resource Management Relative Advantage Chart

4.3 Delivery System Management: Network Project

How your own teaching practice or thoughts about teaching have been impacted by what you have learned or accomplished in this course?

Over the summer I’ve been in discussion with my new department about alternatives to face-to-face professional development.  I used the following assignments to explore different options:

Video Blog – Advantages of Hypermedia

Voicethread on Social Networking
Community Building & Social Networking Project
Using the Internet for Instruction Project

I also took another deep look at how I was organizing my learning blog and restructured how I was using it for my own learning.  I’ve started tagging post, categorizing by standard, and thinking about how I will use my work created at Boise in other professional settings.

How has theory guided development of the projects and assignments you created?

Each assignment allowed me to reflect on my own learning style and think about what made certain assignments more enjoyable than others.  This course has inspired me to think specifically about clarity of directions, the use of peer feedback as a performance review, and the role of Bloom’s taxonomy in building courses and designing activities.

Part Two: Assess Your Performance

Content

Rich in content, full of thought, insight and synthesis with clear connections to previous or current content and/or to real life situations made with depth and detail. 70/70

Readings and Resources

Readings (from course text) and other resource materials are used to support blog comments. APA style is used to cite references. 18/20

Timeline

All required postings are made early in the module to give others time to comment. 18/20

Responses to Other Students

Two or more substantial posts with at least one detailed response made to address another students’ post. 27/30

Author:

Instructional Technology Coach. Mother. Life Long Learner.

Leave a Reply

